NCIR’ PILIN’ ON

Didn’t Get The Memo?

National Memo Day is Today, May 21

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’
2 min readMay 21, 2020

--

Image Source

I can’t believe it almost got away,
but today is National Memo Day.
I feel so silly having to admit
I sent the memo, but forgot to read it.

Perhaps you don’t know the word ‘Memorandum’,
a very long word for something real short.
‘Memo’ is shorter and more appropriate.
I’m through writing letters, and screw that report!

It’s a short-form message. And it’s lacking
letter’s signature characteristics.
Could add a header and the sender’s name,
according to Webster and online Dics.

But what do you get when you “get the memo”?
You receive an item of information.
You’re made aware of current affairs
(but not necessarily office flirtations).

So when is a message not a memo?
If it can fit on a lone post-it note.
Also, if written on restroom stall doors,
and my phone number’s part of what’s wrote.

--

--

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’

Engaged citizen, poet, musician, humorist, family man. I value irreverence, soulfulness, and a big heart. Offering insight, introspection, shock & aw shucks!