Drinking, Sex, and Stimulus Checks

Brian Relay
No Crime in Rhymin’
2 min readApr 7, 2020

--

Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

I’m here once again, to fill up my mug,
One sip, half drained, chug chug chug.

Mornings are rough, but what can I do?
It’s still way better than dying of flu.

36 hours since my last sip of beer,
Memory returning, my vision is clear.

It’s easy to stop when I’ve got no more money,
I feel nonessential, no ale in my tummy.

So I trade in my habit for dependency sex,
Keeping my eye out for stimulus checks.

I promise to keep my hands off the flagon,
But when I get paid, I’ll fall off the wagon.

Brian Relay is writing for beer money. With nothing better to do, he’s been hammering away at his first novel with a new-found ferocity. Because of this, however, he just recently realized he’s been slacking on his Medium game. Everything in moderation, right?

If you enjoy reading stories like these and want to support me along with thousands of other writers, consider signing up to become a Medium member. It’s $5 a month, giving you unlimited access to all stories on Medium. If you sign up using my link, I’ll earn a small commission.

--

--

Brian Relay
No Crime in Rhymin’

Aspiring novelist/director/podcaster/spiritual guru/normal person