NO CRIME IN RHYMIN’

Evening Prayers

Three variations on a theme.

Ed Newman
No Crime in Rhymin’
1 min readJul 22, 2020

--

Photo by June O on Unsplash

Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep;
And if I die before I’m woke,
I pray I’ll be a happy bloke.

Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep;
And if I die before I’m woke,
I pray I’m not with frivolous folk.

Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep,
And if I die before I’m woke,
It’s just my luck I had to croak.

Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep,
And if I die before I’m woke,
My dreams will all go up in smoke.

--

--

Ed Newman
No Crime in Rhymin’

An avid reader who writes about arts, culture, literature & other life obsessions. @ennyman3 Look for my books on Amazon https://tinyurl.com/y3l9sfpj