EXPLODE

An amalgamation of confusion, inexplicable joy, and horror

Shireen Sinclair
No Crime in Rhymin’
1 min readFeb 28, 2021

--

‘Explode’, he’s quite a fickle-minded fella
He catches one unawares

On passing the NY state driving license on my fifth try
I exploded with relief and tears of joy

On our last intercultural family reunion two summers ago
Momentary excitement and excruciating fatigue took control

The second time I had a C-section and became a mother
every cell exploded, “This pain, never again, O brother!”

On starting my pact as a COVID nurse in Germany
I lost and my chance to go see the family

The explosives ‘unbearable longing’ and ‘self-doubt’
Fortunately gave ‘heroic feelings’ a shout-out

Soon after, I lost my spiritual mentor to COVID
and succumbed to ‘loneliness’ and ‘defeat’

A decade ago, our gas cylinder exploded and claimed our house help
Those fierce burning flames can still be felt

Explode, he’s a dangerously addictive fella
Stop him, before he comes to get ya

Shireen is an avid writer, budding Opera singer, apprentice nurse, dog sitter, dog walker, walker…. Jack of all trades and master of one — Mother to two children aged 7 and 9!

--

--

Shireen Sinclair
No Crime in Rhymin’

Artist, mother, writer, immigrant, nurse, seasoned struggler, struggling my way here to motivate others to accept change and start afresh at any point in life.