Handmade Hearing Aid

Are you talking to me?

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Image Source

There once was a guy hard of hearing.
Not hearing one’s wife not endearing.
But in his defense
since things had got tense
he thinks more about disappearing.

But the problem might not be his ears
Though it’s known ears degrade o’er the years
If she would speak up
lift lips from her cup
this sure would increase what he hears.

She said, “I speak clearly when talking.
I think there’s some selective blocking.
Like anytime when
I say clean your den
no acknowledgement, you just start walking.”

He thought, I know what, I’ll get tested
He hoped if an expert attested
his ears were just fine
she’d stop her ear whine
and this fight would end uncontested.

But …

When measuring frequencies matching
mad wife’s tone much like chalkboard scratching
the tester revealed
what he’d long concealed
deliberate wife-voice dispatching.

--

--

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’

Engaged citizen, poet, musician, humorist, family man. I value irreverence, soulfulness, and a big heart. Offering insight, introspection, shock & aw shucks!