Holy Shi..fifty Years Ago

We got married on June 13

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

There once was a girl from Nantucket
Who said, “Please help me with my bucket”
“50 years” on her list
My fate sealed when we kissed
Never thought about trying to duck it.

Nantucket was used to be funny
I know you are not from there, Honey
It’s from limerick lore
No, there’s not a before
You’re the first I lied-to about money

I didn’t think money’s what mattered
You seemed to be fine being flattered
We’re both barely twenty
A few bucks seemed plenty
Since we lived in the now, no dreams shattered

Your question was “What was I thinking?”
Besides steadies formally linking?
My thoughts on sex ed
Would I be good in bed?
And we’re not old enough to be drinking!

Chose a church in Nevada, town of Sparks
Drove from Redding for a pastor’s remarks
No neon chapel bride
Elvis didn’t preside
“Presbyterian” couple embarks

--

--

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’

Engaged citizen, poet, musician, humorist, family man. I value irreverence, soulfulness, and a big heart. Offering insight, introspection, shock & aw shucks!