NCiR’ PILING ON

Honey, I’m Back!

Responding to Laura Sheridan’s Disgruntled

Harper Thorpe
2 min readApr 4, 2020

--

Image Credit

Int’resting, but normally
She’d meet me at the door.
Still home sweet home looks so good
Well, not that parquet floor!

I’m home, Dear, from my short trip.
You miss me? I missed you.
Before I get unpacked, Love,
Perhaps you’d like to ..

.. hear
About my trip-ulations.
Here’s why I shortened it.
Started in the men’s room stall.
Plane’s boarding while I ..

.. tried
Catching tickets slipping from
my lap though legs to muck.
Caught them but my phone fell in.
Don’t curse but I screamed ..

.. “Not
The pot, why not urinal?”
No time, I left, I scrammed.
Once settled on the airplane,
My phone? Well, I’ll be ..

.. why
Do you think this crazy guy
Reached into the abyss?
To save a stranger’s cell phone
Caked with…

--

--

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’

Engaged citizen, poet, musician, humorist, family man. I value irreverence, soulfulness, and a big heart. Offering insight, introspection, shock & aw shucks!