How Dare I Call Myself A Writer

Without following the rules

Mark Starlin
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

“Writers must crank out the words
Thousands at a time
A writer must be diligent
To write less is a crime”

They say I need to focus
So why is it I don’t?
How can I type for hours
When my finger simply won’t?

“Set your alarm for 4am
And start your day off right
By banging out a new essay
Before you see daylight”

But I need to check my email
And send out a new newsletter
I need to keep promoting me
Then my book will sell much better

“If you chose to write a novel
It will become your day
Eight hours is the minimum
Your fingers have to pay”

What of my Facebook writer’s groups?
They need daily attention
I visit all twenty-five
To give my stories a mention

“You need to get on Twitter
You must promote your book
It doesn’t matter what you say
Just

--

--