POETRY | HUMOR

How to Write a Sonnet

A Live Guide

Daniele Ihns
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

I will attempt to write an English sonnet
I don’t know why I started it at all
But since I have three lines already on it
I can no more consider my withdrawal

Oh, look! I’ve done quite well with it thus far
I think I might go get a cup of coffee
It feels like I deserve this small reward
Before my tired eyes decide to stop me

Voilá! What have we here, dear reader?
The volta, as it’s called in Wikipedia
I thought that it would be a great deal harder
Now sonnets have become my favorite media

No, wait, I still have two more lines to go
And nothing else to say here, help! Oh no!

--

--

Daniele Ihns
No Crime in Rhymin’

Journalist and Cultural Critic. Experimental human. Humoristic rhymer. Relationship guinea pig.