POETRY

I CAN’T SMELL OR WHINE

But I can recite this Corona rhyme

Shireen Sinclair
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Photo by form PxHere

Dear Corona, ever since you got here
We are engulfed in fear
No performance, opera or rap
No one to pat me on my back

Singing at the bar is out of the question
No Opera or concert to mention
That French connoisseur across the border
Misses my heavily-accented French order

I’d accept all of this without a sniffle
Partly because I don’t have that choice
My nose now feels painfully brittle
Eyes pop out, no apprehensions voiced

Amid chaotic work timings
Miserable holiday plans, no rest
This COVID nurse, endlessly working
And everyday Corona tests?

Teary eyes that cannot scream
Mucus and blood form a stream
Laughing, snotting, breathing deep
Few more acts that feel like a dream

Last minute shifts, morn after night
Weekend work with a smile
One good thing I suppose
Is that I can’t smell poo or a rose

How I long to climb that stage
Feel that air freely on my face
Lose myself in that delirious frenzy
And perform for an audience before me

Shireen is an avid writer, budding Opera singer, apprentice nurse, dog sitter, dog walker, walker…. Jack of all trades and master of one — Mother to two children aged 8 and 10!

you may also like

--

--

Shireen Sinclair
No Crime in Rhymin’

Artist, mother, writer, immigrant, nurse, seasoned struggler, struggling my way here to motivate others to accept change and start afresh at any point in life.