I Have A Friend Named…

Silly name rhymes

Mark Starlin
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

I have a good friend named Bill Ding
Property ownership is his thing
He owns a dozen apartments
And earns his wages from the rents

I have a friend name Willie Maykit
A tight rope walker who couldn’t quit
He married a gal named Betty Wohnt
Who told him plainly, “Oh no, you don’t!”
She put a stop to his career
A thing that made his children cheer

I have a friend named Ionna Castle
Whose home is nothing but a hassle
It’s far too big for what she needs
She wants to sell and move to Leeds

I have a friend named Ida Hoh
She has a garden where potatoes grow
A neighbor lends a helping hand
Her dear, dear friend, Mary Land

I have a friend named Shirley Knott
Who often starts a new boycott
She won’t allow that in her town
Her face is one long constant frown

--

--