In God’s Realm

Who Should Take The Helm?

Unsplash: Library of Congress

Of all the animals in God’s realm,
The Political Beast claims the helm.
But is it justly, rightly theirs,
Once accounting for sordid affairs.

Of those, there seem to be so many,
As if sold, by the nickel, by the penny.
Doesn’t it seem some other beast,
Is worth a look, at the very least.

For instance, might Doctors, as well as Nurses,
Be honored with our highest verses.
Or perhaps the Clergy, I would suggest,
Be considered worthy of the best.

Or is not a Teacher a worthy member,
Of God’s Realm? They are as I remember.
And surely Police, and other protectors,
Should be thought of by the selectors.

And the Lawyers, also Accountants,
We rely on both; they move mountains!
I’m sure there are many obvious others,
Not to mention, most ALL our Mothers.

So with so many other choices,
Shall we not honor other voices?
Ignore the blabbing Politician!
I think this calls for a new tradition.

--

--

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

I am an old man who loves to write - to entertain, to produce a chuckle, and occasionally make a point I think is worth making - and sometimes all three!