In My Defence

Sonia Bhatnagar
No Crime in Rhymin’
May 23, 2024

It wasn’t me, it was that carcass of a tree
that cast a spell on me
you spoke of seeing parrots every day
but that day they never showed up did they

I remember eating two of those
cherry blossom chocolates
to sweeten the tongue,
turn it inarticulate

I felt them coming up,
an army of dead leaves
The ones I like to walk on,
crunch, like chips

Left to my own devices
I would’ve done better
You know that, I chisel my words
with a velvet dagger

That day, you must know
I had no choice
All those dead dry leaves
spoke in one voice

My honor, if you must
be judgmental now
Can we do it over a jug
of wine and chow chow?

--

--

Sonia Bhatnagar
No Crime in Rhymin’

Stories that connect. Author of 'In Your Blood I Run' published by Harper Collins in January, 23.