Comic verse

Lemon Tart Lover

A true story of cooking, hope and love

Wendy Scott
No Crime in Rhymin’
2 min readDec 9, 2020

--

Photo by an_vision on Unsplash

My boyfriend is clever, he’s ever-so smart,
He lured me to his place, with a posh home-made tart.
It was tasty and sweet, with lemony filling,
He showed me his bedroom, he hoped I’d be willing.

“To get in my knickers, you’ll have to try harder,
Meanwhile, my fine fellow, you’d best douse your ardor,”
I said with a giggle, a wink, and a snort.
He reacted by baking a giant plum torte.

Bewitched, keen as mustard, he made me my dinner.
Three courses with custard, I’m onto a winner.
I like to eat, and not in a rude way,
He likes to cook, with pots bought from e-bay.

He chopped and he sautéed, he grilled and he roasted,
He flambéed, and stir-fried, and proudly he boasted,
“My cooking is epic, and I’m not bad too,
If you’ll be my girlfriend, I’ll make you a brew.”

“At last,” I thought, chuckling, “He’s hitting the spot,
All that I wanted, was tea from a pot.”
“If Earl Grey is crucial, I’ll make it…

--

--

Wendy Scott
No Crime in Rhymin’

L&D professional writing practical, step-by-step leadership and training & development articles to help leaders, managers & trainers grow their careers.