Lost in a Rhyming Desert

And I think it’s a crime!

--

Photo by Kyle Cottrell on Unsplash

I’m lost in a rhyming desert
Unable to think of a rhyme.
I feel like my pockets are empty,
Without a nickel or quarter.

It’s been a couple weeks now,
That I’ve been this rhyming dry.
It came on me like the plague,
And I can’t think of the reason for it.

I used to get so much pleasure
From thinking of a witty rhyme,
But no matter how hard I try now,
It’s just a waste of effort.

I guess I’ve just reached my limit,
Tapped out of rhyming words.
They all seemed to have flown the coop
Like a startled flock of chickens.

So I guess I’ll apply myself elsewhere,
For my creative endeavor,
Hunker down and hope this passes,
Like a spell of stormy times.

--

--

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

I am an old man who loves to write - to entertain, to produce a chuckle, and occasionally make a point I think is worth making - and sometimes all three!