Mirror, Mirror on the Screen

Poem — on self-esteem and social media

Camille Fairbanks
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Photo by William Hook on Unsplash

I’ve not worn ‘self-absorbed’ before;
It’s new; I’ll try it out
For a mid-life crisis, sure why not!
Let’s see what it’s about.

Hey, this designer label
Called social media
Feels nice and I get noticed
Catwalking thoughts for all of ya.

I’m thrilled with all the likes
And follows feel like wins;
Add strangers to the mix
And call them all my friends.

I’ll tell you what I did.
I’ll rant on what I hate!
Post up all my pics,
Take photos of my plate.

And now I keep on counting
The comments and thumbs up
And claps and hearts and #rt,
I love to see that stuff.

My phone is my new mirror;
I scrutinize my looks.
Say mirror mirror on the screen
Who’s the fairest in your book?

And when there’s no response
My heart sinks just a bit.
I wonder what the hell went wrong
Why don’t they like my…stuff?!?!

It’s not that I am insecure,
And yield my self-esteem
To stats and notifications.
Mirror, mirror on the screen..?

--

--

Camille Fairbanks
No Crime in Rhymin’

I paint with words. My daytime canvas is K-12 digital curriculum. At night, poems. I try to share the beauty of authentic moments.