Monster Under My Bed

A poem

acidwriter
No Crime in Rhymin’
1 min readSep 17, 2020

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Look mama, look
There’s a monster under my bed

Don’t be silly
It’s all in your head

Look mama, look
There’s a monster at my door

Same old story
I’ve heard it before

Look mama, look
Now the monster’s in my bed

Mama doesn’t speak. A gash on the head
She lies in a pool of blood, undead

The monster creeps up
It shuts my mouth

Looks awful familiar
In fact, familial

Smells like Papa
It feels like Papa

Sounds like Papa
It is Papa!

Blood red eyes
And venomous breath

Hush now, child
Or you’ll meet your death

I close my eyes
I want to scream

I bite my tongue
And dive into a dream

Of happy days
And garden games

But the pain goes on
On and on

On and on
And on and on

Now I feel the blood
The sheets are red

Told you, Mama
A monster’s in my bed

--

--