My Fate and I

A Poem

Dayton O'Donnell
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

On one fine day, I woke to see my fate.
As strange a thing it seemed for me to see,
the shock was doubly so for fate, indeed.
Not used to being seen, he meant to flee,
but once we had a chat we came to find,
that one of us was gravely far from free.

“I hate my job,” my fate began to bark.
“Day in, day out I work your life away!
And why? It seems a silly thing to do.
When out there somewhere is a crystal bay
With fish and sun and trees awaiting me.
So why then must I live out all your days?”

“You think it’s meaningless?” I had to ask.
“My life, for me, seems more than just some chore.”
I looked directly in the eyes of my worried fate
and asked, “I’m sorry, but now I must implore
who told you that you had to guide my life?
What force compels you that you can’t ignore?”

With shrunken tones and sadness in his voice
My fate slouched down and told me this: he said,
“I guess, it’s you who binds me to this task.
Your fear. It seeks me out…

--

--

Dayton O'Donnell
No Crime in Rhymin’

Yo! I'm a guy who does a lot of creative and businessy stuff — www.daytondoesstuffcom