My Soul Flickers

My Feathered Pen
No Crime in Rhymin’
1 min readMar 21, 2021

--

Photo by Marten Newhall on Unsplash

Some days, I shine on and on,
Then I flicker, my ambience is gone,
I’m ever trying to have ceaseless hope.
My inner light is just failing to cope.

I quiver and I shake at my very core,
Keeping my light on steadily is now a chore.
Could it be a fault in my circuit system?
I fear my soul has formed another schism.

My being wasn’t always like this,
Broken, fragmented and simply a-miss,
Glimmering, yes, it has always done,
but I crave luminance in the long run.

The kind that glows and sparkles within,
Radiating every nerve and vein under my skin,
so that I feel alive and bouncy once more,
and the piercing darkness no longer takes score.

But after every hurtful and heartbreaking mess,
My light experiences a period of stress.
For very soon after, it weakens and jitters,
and so this is how my soul still flickers.

© Mabel Osejindu

Thank you for reading! Like and subscribe!

--

--

My Feathered Pen
No Crime in Rhymin’

Writer, Poet, Teacher. Bookworm. I write about love, religion, spirituality, relationships and nature.