POETRY

Now You Listen to Me, Isaias

You Need A Time-Out, You Naughty Storm

Jen Kleinknecht
No Crime in Rhymin’
1 min readAug 9, 2020

--

Photo by Anandu Vinod on Unsplash

Tropical Storm Isaias,
I’d like to have a word with you.
It wasn’t very nice at all
What you put me through.

I’d like you to take a seat
Right where you belong
Here on the Naughty Chair.
Now admit what you did wrong.

You tore through my yard,
Knocked down my neighbor’s tree,
Which landed on my roof
And left a mess for me.

Then you took my power,
And next my WiFi too.
My cable? Not my cable!
No Netflix thanks to you!

Like a drunken college student,
You stole all my beer!
You robbed my cheesy pizza
From the fridge I had to clear.

And for hours upon hours,
You caused the whining of my son!
“There’s no YouTube! There’s no Xbox!
Mom, there is no fun!”

Yeah, I’m safe. There is no damage.
All the lights have come back on.
I hope you learned from this, Isaias.
Now it’s best that you move on.

And tell your cousin Josephine
She best not mess with me.
She had better lose my address,
And just head out to sea.

--

--