replacing rings with oximeters

on COVID-19 paranoia

Bhavyakirti
No Crime in Rhymin’
Dec 15, 2020

--

Viktor Forgacs on Unsplash

today my jewelry hangs on the stand
my pendant, bangles, my wedding band

my nail-paint chipped, my nails are clipped
a thermometer in my hand is gripped

my finger adorned with an oximeter
night-stand replaced with a space heater

my pearly skin breaks out in sweat
my t-shirt rendered soaking wet

if i were sick! if i were sick!
i’d gargle betadine, or is it balsamic?

my dizzy head would never tell
and my taste buds would bid farewell

as i turn my head to see the screen
i let out a delighted scream

a 100 in oxygen, a perfect score
saves me a trip to the drugstore

--

--

Bhavyakirti
No Crime in Rhymin’

Lawyer. Writes poetry and on poetry. Also likes making fun of things and people, mostly of herself (@bhavyakirti on instagram).