Romeo and Juliet Revisited

Be Careful What Thou Wisheth For (a double sonnet)

Craig Richards
No Crime in Rhymin’
2 min readMay 12, 2022

--

Image: Pixabay/RichardsDrawings

Oh Juliet, my love, thou art so fair;
by far the finest beauty I have seen.
I love to run my fingers through your hair,
enchanted by its lustre and its sheen.

Your lips, a source of infinite delight,
assuage my thirst and bring my soul to life.
I gaze on you and all the world feels right;
to lose your love would cut me like a knife.

Yet, Carmen is a lovely woman too;
a passionate and playful little minx.
I’d love to introduce my friend to you;
you’d get on like a house on fire, methinks.

We’d wine and dine, and ere the night is done
indulge ourselves in stirring up some fun.

but then…

Oh Romeo, my sweetest, dearest love;
you are so doting, thoughtful, sweet and kind.
Your company’s a gift from up above;
without you, I am sure I’d lose my mind.

Your strength and charm are clearly without bounds;
those muscled arms have kept me safe and warm.
With you, I fear not even hellish hounds,
for you’re my steadfast shelter from the storm.

Now Carmen is indeed a lovely fox;
I met her at the market yesterday.
Your lechery’s unlocked Pandora’s box,
and so, my dear, I asked her home to play.

My darling, it‘s now time you got a clue —
there’s no room in our little bed for you!

_____________________________________

Thanks for reading.

--

--

Craig Richards
No Crime in Rhymin’

Programmer, web designer, educator, writer, poet, friend to animals, contrarian, freethinker. That’s for starters.