Self-Portrait as a Whale

A garden to a graveyard

Rose Bryant
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Photo by Michael L on Unsplash

Drifting through the vast blue web.
I am a consumer.
Lived in a world once unknown,
filled with nutrition. Resources.
Beautiful blues and pinks,
The possibilities of an open ocean.

Photo by SGR on Unsplash

Now, my home
Overflows with waste.
A garden to a graveyard,
brought to the brink, by man’s haste.
The possibilities are a tight stream.

Photo by yang wewe on Unsplash

I stare at the deep blue screen,
Inhaling all that passes me,
all the unwanted information.
With only scraps of nutritious krill.
I am starving
but my belly is full.
With no way of filtering out the fake food,
I consume.

Photo by Naja Bertolt Jensen on Unsplash

Inspired by Aimee Nezhukumatathil’s “Portrait as Scallop”

--

--