She Loves Truckin’

Matthew Kenneth Gray
No Crime in Rhymin’
2 min readOct 28, 2020

--

Photo Credit: Shutterstock

She answered a Drivers Wanted ad
They said she’d be haulin’ a big rig
She’d see all parts of the country
And it would be a cushy gig

So she signed up to get her CDL
And her Hazmat credentials too
She hasn’t told her parents yet
And it’s time I think they knew

She loves truckin’
Truckin’ across the USA
When she’s not truckin’
She’s havin’ a really bad day
She loves truckin’
She’s excited about honkin’ that horn
She loves truckin’
You’d think she’s been truckin’ since the day she was born

She asked me if I’d like to ride along
For me to see what truckin’ was like
So we went on a big truckin’ adventure
In our down time, we’d eat or take a hike

But the best thing about truckin’
Was after our loads were done
I told her our truckin’ was out of this world
Our truckin’ convinced me she was the one

--

--

Matthew Kenneth Gray
No Crime in Rhymin’

Columnist, “Redbird Country — Essays from the Midwest.” I also write lyrics and poetry regularly.