Sometimes It’s Better To Heed

(And Just Let An Old Dog Take The Lead)

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Middie, happily ensconced in the crook of the knee of her very favorite person. (Image provided by author)

Give me a dog that I don’t have to remind,
To walk by my side, not out front or behind,
That knows me as well I know myself,
A friend and companion, for that is true wealth.

I’m currently providing both room and board,
For a very different and strange kind of ward.
She treats me just fine, well, just kind of O.K.,
Insists on having her way. And her say!

“Let’s not stop here,” I try to tell her,
Which she ignores, activating her smeller.
“Allow me to decide the right place to pee,
“Please, this is my walk, and I’ll take the lead.”

Middie may not be the right dog for me,
But as she says, “Give it a chance, and we’ll see.”
“So let’s get this straight, you’re putting me on trial?”
“I suppose it could be worse, you could be in denial.”

When we get back home, I try to explain
To my lovely wife, “I think I’m going insane.
When this dog looks at me, when we take our walks,
I swear, it’s like she turns to me, and she talks!”

--

--

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

I am an old man who loves to write - to entertain, to produce a chuckle, and occasionally make a point I think is worth making - and sometimes all three!