Spare Me The Hell of A Smart-Watch

Shalini C
No Crime in Rhymin’
2 min readSep 23, 2020
Photo by Chris Abney on Unsplash

I hide from a Fitbit’s holier-than-thou eyes
scoffing at my breaths idling every second
colonizing my free time with body-positive spies
A noisy purgatory strapped to my carefree veins

This leash of wasted time ticking on a dial
belted tightly through a day’s front and rear
measuring my youth with a creepy, voyeuristic smile
chinking dismissively to my motto of laissez-faire

I feel it snooping around my body’s private pool
raiding the chemically-unstable viscosity of phlegm
It eavesdrops on a cold lung thawing to an inhaler’s spool
and the glug-glug of red wine metabolizing m&ms

This is Big Brother’s eye hard-to-please
It’s got me picking stairs over the elevator
and swapping my sweet lattes with kale smoothies
My belly packed with anti-fuckin’-everything-that’s-comfort

And what it counts indubitably as sleep stress
how can it tell with a bullet’s veracity
that my REM cycle spells nine-to-five duress
and not a flowering dream’s plot complexity

Spare me the horrors of my body’s alt-dimension
slashed in drunken charts of a know-it-all’s apprehension
and the fibs my feet say about sweaty miles accomplished
why would I want them strapped to my wrist?

Thank you for reading! If you liked reading this, you may also enjoy:

--

--

Shalini C
No Crime in Rhymin’

Poet, beauty-of-words seeker, cook, bookworm. Politically-correct chocolate muncher.