Poetry

Summer is for Cornhole

The best game ever

--

Image from Backyard Sidekick

Summer is for cornhole
the best of all the sports
you can play with sandals
or your best pair of jorts.

The bags are filled with beans
the boards are made of wood
who even made this game?
I’d kiss them if I could.

A win fills me with joy
a loss, uncontrolled rage
like when I threw a bag
at my friend’s son’s rib cage.

I only broke one rib,
so it’s not a big deal
until the doctors said
it likely will not heal.

The family was mad
they took back both their boards
so I snuck into their house
and spooked them with my swords.

They handed back their game
in my shed, it shall stay
until my next party
which is two days away.

--

--

Payton Burdette
No Crime in Rhymin’

Therapy disguised as comedy. I'm kinda funny on my Youtube Channel: Payton Burdette