:NCIR’ PILIN’ ON

Tell Laura I Forgive Her (Not)

Responding to Laura Sheridan’s “Tell Laura I Love Her

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’
2 min readJun 26, 2020

--

Image Source

This is really awkward, Laura,
I’m in heaven looking down.
Guess that’s not a sign you’re praying,
finger up, the others down.
Pretty sure I dodged a bullet.
Is that dress your wedding gown?

To be clear, I wish I hadn’t
crashed my car and passed away.
Still I wonder, had I survived,
would you be my wife today?
All the girls in heaven: virgins.
Something that you couldn’t say.

Yes I know your father’s upset
’bout that brand new car he bought.
Seemed to hold the corners real well,
not sure why it left the lot.
Guess I’d lost my concentration —
STD from you I caught.

I gave you most all my winnings,
said you paid-off student loans.
Now my classless, high school drop-out’s
with that crooner, (Welsh!) Tom Jones.
Beware of his sexy manner,
heard his temper’s broke some bones.

--

--

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’

Engaged citizen, poet, musician, humorist, family man. I value irreverence, soulfulness, and a big heart. Offering insight, introspection, shock & aw shucks!