POETRY DEPT.

The Easy Way Out

To reach mountaintops one must choose to climb.

Ed Newman
No Crime in Rhymin’
1 min readJun 6, 2020

--

It’s a story that’s sad, it’s a story that’s true,
It happened to me, it can happen to you.
I covered my tracks, white lies can cause doubt;
I escaped by taking the easy way out.

T’was early in life, a habit was built;
Instead of what’s wise I did what I felt.
It’s a tale of decisions more painful than gout,
A lifetime of taking the easy way out.

Oh I’ve done OK, I got what I got.
Did I fight the Good Fight? I often did not.
I’ve my trophies, awards and things I can tout
Though too often I took the easy way out.

Relationships, too, were often upended
The choices I made marred the things that were splendid.
Instead of a hero I acted the lout,
Made excuses for taking the easy way out.

To reach mountaintops you must climb all the way
You ascend step by step, that’s the price you must pay.
If you dawdle, that battle will be your last bout;
Get going, don’t look for the easy way out.

--

--

Ed Newman
No Crime in Rhymin’

An avid reader who writes about arts, culture, literature & other life obsessions. @ennyman3 Look for my books on Amazon https://tinyurl.com/y3l9sfpj