The Giraffe Wins by a Nose!

And I hope it wasn’t even close.

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

My appologies to Gary Bendig (giraffe) and Matthew T Rader (toad), both on Unsplash, for combining their images.

I’m trying to get older the best that I can,
But I fear it will take a much better man.
I creak and I grimace as I shamble along;
I try to cover it all by singing a song.

I sing it so low they can’t hear the words,
And whistle a bit, it’s all quite absurd.
I sing: “Oh, my Lordy, what’s happened to me,
Will I ever be able to take a proud pee?”

Or am I destined to dribble it forth,
Though I huff and I puff for all that it’s worth?
Will my bones ever straighten, will I stand erect,
Or will my shoulders inch forward as I kinda suspect?

Will my constant companion be my oak cane,
As I slowly tap forward again and again?
They can all hear me as I come down the hall,
And they sit and they wonder, will he make it or fall?

Will I ever again be free of this pain,
Am I destined to walk against driving rain?
These are the questions occurring to me,
But they never occur when it’s my grandkids I see!

--

--

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

I am an old man who loves to write - to entertain, to produce a chuckle, and occasionally make a point I think is worth making - and sometimes all three!