Photo by Yours Truly

The Maine Coronavirus Power Outage Song

(With apologies to John Hiatt)

Meg
2 min readApr 10, 2020

--

to be sung to the tune of The Tiki Bar is Open

Thank God the cell tower is standing.
Thank God my mobile’s bell still chimes.
Thank God the cell tower is powered.
Come on. Scroll down. It’ll numb your mind.

I was locked down, working homebound,
In a surreality.
Then the snow began a fallin'.
Will the power last? We'll see.

First the cable went, then power.
Went to bed. What else to do?
Now it’s morning. There’s no water.
I can’t even flush my loo.

I guess I could read a novel
While the daylight holds. It’s true.
And my range is gas, so there’s that.
At least I can cook a stew.

But I can't invite you over
To my hearth to share a meal.
Though the woodstove fire is cozy,
We've got cooties, so no deal.

Thank God the cell tower is standing.
Thank God my mobile’s bell still chimes.
Thank God the cell tower is powered.
Come on. Scroll down. It’ll numb your mind.

Dedicated to Dr. Nirav Shah, Director of the Maine CDC

A quarter-million Mainers lost power on April 9th in a heavy spring snowstorm. Many are experiencing what will probably be a multi-day power outage in near freezing temperatures during a stay-at-home order. Many are without heat and, in this rural state, water. All we can do is laugh at fate.

(C) 2020 Meg Barclay

--

--