The Man Who Was Not Manly Enough

How long can you sustain your COVID-19 beard?

Rand Grey
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Herman Melville by Joseph O Eaton (Public Domain)

I grew out my beard for COVID-19
Mostly in order to just be seen
By everyone on every screen

The first ten minutes in all my Zooms
My beard the entire time consumes
It may be gray, but see how it blooms!

Yet my wife refuses to be close to me
The beard she says doesn’t help you see
It’s nasty, spiky and somewhat dirty

Do I look like I care I ask the mirror
The fairest in the land gets clearer
Each time I note a gentlemen peerer

But daily my spouse does not approve
Which manly desire must I behoove?
To feed the beast or it remove?

Oh Dickens, Dostoevsky, and Melville!
We came so close to conquer the devil
Forgive me for what I now must level!

--

--