The Power Of Prayer

(As A Dragon Slayer)

--

Photo by Casey Allen on Unsplash

When light has lost to darkness, and silence wins the house,
Questions circle me like vultures, causing me to grouse.
I ponder all decisions made, and ones I didn’t make,
And once again I clutch my covers, lying fully wide awake.

It’s become my nightly ritual, the one I fear the most,
More harrowing in my view than to be visited by ghosts.
Am I doomed to repeat this? Is this my nightly need?
Must I endure another night just so I can proceed?

Or can this be eliminated? Can this thing be fixed?
Can I ply some strategies or other types of tricks?
May I ask you for an answer? What have you to say?
I guess while I’m waiting I’ll just continue to pray.

--

--

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

I am an old man who loves to write - to entertain, to produce a chuckle, and occasionally make a point I think is worth making - and sometimes all three!