NCiR’ Pilin’ On

Tight Pants & Writer’s Rants

Inspired by Wendy Scott’s “Housework Horrors

Harper Thorpe
3 min readJan 26, 2021

--

My wife doesn’t like to watch me write poetry, but she does like to watch me iron my shirts. (Image Source)

Consumed by my writing for too long a time,
I realized our home was the scene of a crime!

I’d taken for granted my wife’s OCD,
but must have missed something, did she mutiny?

Our bed has gone unmade, I don’t know how long,
my musk percolating — no turn-on, just wrong.

I thought this is so bad, how could she ignore …
Then stopped when I realized, I’d not heard her snore.

Not last night, the night before, not since last week.
She’d moved to our guest room when sheets start’d to reek.

Surprised I’d not noticed, she’s not in my bed?
I oft write past midnight, she’d retire ahead

of me. Lights were kept off to not awaken
my tired house keeper who’s clearly forsaken

her duties to keep things so I could create.
No wonder I’ve had writer’s block as of late!

So I said, “I will, Dear, start pulling my weight.”
She blew me a sarcastic kiss with “Damn straight.”

--

--

Harper Thorpe
No Crime in Rhymin’

Engaged citizen, poet, musician, humorist, family man. I value irreverence, soulfulness, and a big heart. Offering insight, introspection, shock & aw shucks!