Two Thousand Miles From My Home

A Grandfather’s Personal Lament

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Photo by Kait Herzog on Unsplash

We just returned from our first post pandemic road trip, from Saint Simons Island, GA, where my wife and I have retired, to Colorado, where most of our family lives — a distance of about 2,000 miles. After our year of pandemic separation, and fully vaccinated, we wanted to see our children and our grandchildren. In that we did indulge. What follows is a poem about just a small fraction of our experiences.

If you missed the car I’m in
You will know just where I’ve been
You can hear my heart GLOW two thousand miles.
Two thousand miles, two thousand miles,
Two thousand miles, two thousand miles,
You can hear my heart GLOW two thousand miles.

Our first stop was in Denver. We were able to be there for this little tike’s third Birthday.

Photo taken by author.

Lord, I’m one, Lord, I’m two, Lord I’m two, Lord I’m two
Lord, I’m livin’ two thousand miles from my home.
Two thousand miles, two thousand miles
Two thousand miles, two thousand miles,
Lord I’m livin’ two thousand miles from my home.

--

--

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

I am an old man who loves to write - to entertain, to produce a chuckle, and occasionally make a point I think is worth making - and sometimes all three!