POETRY SALON

What Rhymes With Anniversary?

Poetry begets…

Ed Newman
No Crime in Rhymin’
1 min readMay 25, 2020

--

Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

When I heard you say, “What
rhymes with anniversary”
it made me want to shout, “No, it does not.
It rhymes with butt,
as well as with nut, rut and mutt.”

It also rhymes with putt,
but not with put, which rhymes with foot
and soot, though not quite suit
which rhymes with boot,
which is quite the hoot.

There’s no crime in rhymin’
even when it’s inane
so long as it’s playful,
(I’m getting your game)
and not too lame.

Now returning to what,
I feel it in my gut
to mention that it pairs well
with smut, and slut —
unpleasantries I’d personally
prefer to cut.

I think I’m done. I gotta run.
But thanks for triggering all this fun.

Triggered today by what rhymes with anniversary?

--

--

Ed Newman
No Crime in Rhymin’

An avid reader who writes about arts, culture, literature & other life obsessions. @ennyman3 Look for my books on Amazon https://tinyurl.com/y3l9sfpj