A POETIC DIVERSION

Writing A Self Portrait

Distancing myself from the madness.

Ed Newman
No Crime in Rhymin’
1 min readJun 1, 2020

--

Matthew Kluber art projection. Joseph Nease Gallery, Duluth. Photo by the author.

I’m writing till I’m all wrote out.
Whatever emerges I’ll follow its flow
till sidetracked by another route
that leads me elsewhere. I won’t know
till I get there.

I’m writing till I find myself.
Whatever emerges will help me learn
something new. I’m weary of pelf
that has no purpose. What I yearn
for is fresh air.

I’m writing, half believing I’ll see
a flow of words that serves as a trail
where mind, heart and soul agree:
a trail, one hopes, that will not be a veil
but a portrait real.

--

--

Ed Newman
No Crime in Rhymin’

An avid reader who writes about arts, culture, literature & other life obsessions. @ennyman3 Look for my books on Amazon https://tinyurl.com/y3l9sfpj