Flavor scientists predict the biggest trends in foods for 2023

The forecast includes a rise in fermented foods, nostalgia, and sweetness

Abbey
Food Science Fusion

--

Being a food scientist is freakin’ awesome. I’m constantly in awe of the new flavors and innovative foods some of my closest friends launch into the market.

Going to the grocery store for me is like a college reunion featuring all my classmates.

In the yogurt section, I always think of my friend Julia and look at what new Yoplait products she’s launched. Chelsey makes the baby and toddler food. Karley is in charge of the cheeses and Kelly is behind cereal.

The candy aisle is even worse, with so many of my former labmates going on to work at confectionary companies like Mars-Wrigley, Lindt, and Ferrara.

Why?

Because we worked in a candy research laboratory. Yes, such a thing exists!

But, there’s another aspect of being a food scientist that I think is just the bee’s knees — predictions of trends for the new year!

Here’s the flavors, patterns, and products that are expected to be hot in 2023.

Take me back to childhood

--

--

Abbey
Food Science Fusion

I’m a food scientist by PhD, a science writer, and a YouTuber. I’m fascinated by food science and enjoy writing and sharing what I’ve learn.