Make your own homemade gin

My newest hobby during COVID-19

Abbey
Food Science Fusion

--

I’ve never quite understood people who love vodka. It’s basically a clear, tasteless liquid with no defining features. What’s so special about that?

Since I’m writing this article, you’ve probably figured out gin is my alcohol of choice. I never get sick of the taste of pine trees in my mouth. I know that sounds a little odd, but it makes me nostalgic about Santa Claus and reindeers.

I will say, the one good thing about vodka is it’s essentially a blank canvas. And this isn’t my opinion.

Check out how the Code of Federal Regulations legally defines vodka:

Vodka” is a neutral spirit so distilled, or so treated after distillation with charcoal or other materials, as to be without distinctive character, aroma, taste, or color.

See, I wasn’t joking when I said there’s nothing special about vodka.

Transforming vodka into gin

Since vodka is a nearly pure mixture of ethanol (alcohol) and water without any characteristic flavor or aroma, it’s the perfect starting point for creating your own…

--

--

Abbey
Food Science Fusion

I’m a food scientist by PhD, a science writer, and a YouTuber. I’m fascinated by food science and enjoy writing and sharing what I’ve learn.