Why do so many people HATE cheese?

Abbey
Food Science Fusion
6 min readApr 11, 2023

--

Even writing that was painful as a Wisconsinite

Just last week my research team hosted a cheese tasting event. Yes, when you’re a food scientist, eating cheese is “work.”

I was pumped and couldn’t wait to try EVERY cheese. To my surprise, I was in the minority. Over half of my colleagues were cheese adverse to put it nicely.

They attended (begrudgingly) but weren’t interested in sampling like I was.

That’s when one of my Dutch friends began to argue that most of the world doesn’t like cheese.

To me, a Wisconsinite, this was pure blasphemy!

But, then I did some digging… and to my surprise the first research article I found said this about my beloved cheese,

“In this study, we show that a higher percentage of people are disgusted by cheese than by other types of food.”

Which got me thinking, why does so much of the world hate cheese?

Cheese is basically curdled milk

--

--

Abbey
Food Science Fusion

I’m a food scientist by PhD, a science writer, and a YouTuber. I’m fascinated by food science and enjoy writing and sharing what I’ve learn.