Jock Zonfrillo Was A Beacon Of Light — “Rest Your Mind Man”

Mark Dalton
nO, I’M rEAllY NoT FiNe
3 min readMay 14, 2023

--

"Rest your mind man…”

One of the few moments of television which sticks in my mind was watching Brent Draper on Masterchef Australia quitting the show due to mental health reasons.

For those unfamiliar with what happened, Brent was a contestant on Masterchef and right before a tense elimination challenge he told judges that he couldn’t cook. Jock took him to the side, talk to him about what was going on and then affectionately thrust a set of beads into Brent’s hands with the words — “Rest your mind man”.

Jock had been my favourite judge to watch on any Masterchef series, and not just for that moment. He was kind, caring and he looked out for others. He was an advocate for mental health and it was from Jock that I first discovered ‘worry beads’.

That’s why it was heartbreaking to hear about his death at just 46 years old, such a tough pill to swallow, I didn’t want to talk about it in the last two weeks. It is tough when someone makes an impact on you and your mental health and you never actually met them.

When I first watched Masterchef Australia, I noticed a set of beads that Jock was holding in his hand. Now I honestly assumed they were a cool fashion accessory. I had no idea what they were other than that, I had never heard of worry beads before.

Clearly I wasn’t the only one noticing those beads because Jock was asked about them so much, he posted a video on Instagram explaining what the beads were for.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CXPputsgmPx/

Now I wish I had the budget to pick up a set of Jock’s beads but not the case unfortunately. However it was inspiration to shop around and pick up my own set of worry beads. They have been crucial in helping me deal with anxiety and get my mind right.

Simply having a set of beads to manipulate in my hands during times I am feeling anxious has been such a gift. Basically channeling that anxious energy towards something else and having a distraction has helped keep me grounded in those moments.

Jock had incredible highs and lows through his career. He was 17 years old when he was addicted to heroin. He was homeless and didn’t have a job. He had just been sacked from a Michelin starred restaurant when he decided to go and knock on Marco Pierre White’s door and was hired.

On New Year’s Eve 1999, he shot up his last dose of heroin before boarding a plane heading to Sydney. According to reports, he was secretly battling bowel cancer for two years before he died. He kept it quiet, so much so that apparently many family members and friends were not aware of what he was going through.

A true indication of how much he meant to those close to him can be seen in an interview from his closest friend and fellow Masterchef judge, Andy Allen, after Jock was found dead.

And I have to add the tribute from his fellow chefs in the industry which is a real tearjerker.

Finally the message from his family;

“With completely shattered hearts and without knowing how we can possible move through life without him, we are devastated to share that Jock passed away yesterday,” the heartbreaking statement read.

“So many words can describe him, so many stories can be told, but at this time we’re too overwhelmed to put them into words.

“For those who crossed his path, became his mate, or were lucky enough to be his family, keep this proud Scot in your hearts when you have your next whisky.

“We implore you to please let us grieve privately as we find a way to navigate through this, and find space on the other side to celebrate our irreplaceable husband, father, brother, son and friend.”

Rest your mind.

--

--