How to Prep for Spring, Now.

Ethan Thomas
No Jacket Required
Published in
5 min readApr 1, 2018

Thanks to daylight savings time, we can finally enjoy the sunshine after 5 pm. So after reviewing some of the more uncommon shops to find winter clothes, let’s look at some of the essentials you should have in your closet and what you should do to really prep for Spring.

pexels.com

I started making a checklist of things I wanted and needed to get done before spring really gets started. Ended up getting ahead of myself and turning it into this piece.

Find the Perfect Light Jacket

I’d say the style right now favors bomber, denim and button-down shirt jackets. Oddly enough, J. Crew Factory has the full line-up at your disposal for a reasonable price. You could buy all three for $170. I wouldn’t recommend doing that, but you could and you’d be really stylish.

What’s great about each is that they all work with whatever you’re wearing. Jeans or chinos. Oxford button down, henley, T-shirt. It all works. I probably wouldn’t pair these with a more professional look, but who am I to stop you from being a style icon.

If you’re not feeling those, I’d go with a classic Patagonia rain jacket.

Investment Option

The price tag is hefty, but oh my god these jackets are amazing. I recently got the Tinford Jacket as a gift, and to say it’s life changing is an exaggeration but it’s 100% my favorite jacket. It’s got a classic style, built to last and goes with everything besides a suit. If you’re cool to throw down the cash for it, I say buy one ASAP.

Layer Properly

It’s still cold in the morning, but when you walk outside for lunch you realized the temperature has shot up about 20 degrees. Let me walk you through what I’d wear for that.

Start with a summer weight button down. Most brands will start selling a lighter weight option for spring and summer. Don’t go too crazy with the patterns or colors. Yes, brighter colors work in the spring, but a borderline neon blue, pink or yellow doesn’t look great on most guys. Unless you’re going for the “20-year old home from college for Easter” look. Then by all means…

You can pack away that thick wool sweater you’ve worn since November. Instead, pull over a silk-linen crewneck sweater. This is where it’s good to understand your fabrics. Silk and linen are much lighter than cotton or merino wool and will breathe a lot better.

Top it off with a thin puffy vest. I’d avoid the cotton fleece ones for now. While not water-proof, it’ll keep you drier if you get caught in an unexpected rain shower.

If you’re still cold after wearing that then replace the vest with one of the light jackets I pointed out earlier.

For the weekend I’ve been a fan of rocking a good flannel over my favorite long sleeve t-shirt or henley. Go a size up and it’s great to throw over a sweatshirt or hoodie. Perfect for afternoon bar crawls, dinner on the restaurant patio and a good fire pit at night.

Get your go-to suit and blazer tailored

Maybe you’ve bought a new suit/blazer or maybe you’ve dropped some pounds from your new year’s resolution, whatever the reason you should make sure that suit/blazer fits.

If you need a new go-to suit, don’t skimp on it. Treat yourself and get a nice one from Suit Supply. If you have a store near you, they’ll tailor everything the day you buy it.

In need of a blazer? Check out two of my favorites at the moment.

Spring Cleaning

It’s easy to overlook cleaning your apartment or house in the winter. You’re practically in hibernation, but you’ll soon realize what you’ve neglected. Take the time now to clean and you’ll have less to worry about when you set up that last minute pre-game or dinner with friends.

Take a gander at a piece I wrote back in December. It’s been a few months and if you haven’t cleared out your closet I bet you wish you had not waited.

Or check out Valet Mag’s advice. I’m not saying I definitely wrote mine first, but check the dates. Just saying…

Clean and Shine your shoes

Check out the cleaning and shining products in the piece below. I guarantee your shoes are more beat up than you think. Plus a fresh coat of water-resistant spray will go a long way with April showers ahead of us.

Start looking into every outdoor or rooftop bar/restaurant.

It’s finally going to be warm out, go enjoy it. Figure out the best spots in town, and be the go-to guy with the best places to go for happy hour or a Saturday afternoon in the sun.

That’s where you can find me. See you there.

--

--

Ethan Thomas
No Jacket Required

Young professional. Optimistic writer. Amateur style whiz.