Upgrade Your Style This Winter Without Breaking the Bank

Punxsutawney Phil predicts six more weeks of winter… So let’s stock up on some clothes and gear that will help you get through that terrible news.

Ethan Thomas
No Jacket Required
7 min readFeb 24, 2018

--

Let’s take a look at some brands you may shy away from, but have some pretty great deals on clothes that will help your wardrobe out for the remainder of winter and go into spring. So please don’t cringe and immediately leave this page once you see some of the brands listed. I promise I wouldn’t mislead you into some horrifying purchases.

Abercrombie & Fitch

Yes. That terrible brand that pasted their name on every inch of their clothing and every annoying girl seemed to wear in middle school. Bare with me on this. Stop thinking like someone in 2008. They’ve changed creative director’s and have a much better lineup of clothes. Fewer logos, less cologne and a more rustic simplistic approach.

  1. Bomber Jacket - $120: This is the most expensive item on the list, so let’s rip off the band-aid and talk about it first. First off, I believe it’s worth it. Second, it can go with anything. I’ll wait while you come up with something you can’t wear with it.
  2. Stretch Poplin Shirt - $58: The light blue vertical striped shirt has come in and out of popularity in the past few decades. I find it a great go-to for work and it had that timeless feel to it.
  3. Textured Crew Sweater - $68: I think it might be a sin to not have a couple good sweaters to wear. Okay… That’s a little aggressive, but you should definitely have at least one crew neck sweater to wear over a T-shirt or button down. This textured one is great for layering in the winter. Red is a pretty holiday color, but stick with navy, grey or black and you can pair them with nearly anything.
  4. Light Wash Slim Jeans - $44: I used to not be a fan of light wash jeans, but it’s grown on me as it seems every single guy only wears dark wash denim anymore. It’s a good way to subtly stand out in the crowd. With a great fit and with materials that stretch, these are an awesome go-to option to buy.
  5. Slim Chino Pants - $68: I’d classify these as more of a relaxed slim pant. Just enough room in the seat, thigh and leg, but has a very slight taper throughout. Great for

American Eagle

Not as terrible memories of American Eagle as AB&F, but still not great. Seriously though, they have some of the best simple basic clothes for a reasonable price. Plus they have tall options for nearly every type of clothing they have (Anyone over 6'3" knows the pain of shirts not being long enough).

  1. Military Jacket - $89.95: This is a great jacket to layer in the winter, but will easily transfer to being a solid lightweight jacket in the spring. Perfect for weekend brewery trips or hitting the town at night. I’d avoid wearing this one to work.
  2. Solid Oxford Popover - $39.95: This shirt is best of many worlds. You essentially have an oxford in a long sleeve polo. Perfect for the transition from winter to spring. In a neutral grey, it transcends most seasons. In the winter, wear it with a pair of black jeans and a bomber jacket. In the spring, rock ’em with a nice navy chino and loafer. In the summer wear them with your favorite board shorts. I’d call that a win-win-win scenario.
  3. Extreme Flex Slim Taper Jean - $37.46: Currently my favorite fitting jean. Room in the seat and thigh, but with a great taper through the calf and ankle. (If you know me, one of my biggest pet peeves is pants that have too much room around the ankle. Odd, I know)
  4. 3/4 Sleeve T-Shirt - $29.95: I really like the 3/4 sleeve look. It’s not very common to find a shirt like this, and plus I always find myself rolling my sleeves up anyway. Not a bad find for the cost.
  5. Fleece Jogger - $37.46: The perfect Sunday pants. Or after work pants. Whatever the occasion is for relaxing, these will make it that much better. Great fit and they offer both regular and tall sizes. That’s not too common in sweatpants or joggers. I like them in the oatmeal color, but they offer a couple other solid options.
  6. Timex Digital Watch - $44.95: Timex is a great watch for the price. No frills, but a very classic style. Most Timex watches have a solid warranty to replace if broken.

Old Navy

Full disclosure I gave my coworker shit for shopping here the other day. For basics, Old Navy does a solid job. I’ve never been a huge fan of the cuts and fits of some of their clothes, but they have some hidden gems if you take the time to find them. Don’t worry, I’ve found a few of them for you!

  1. Textured-Knit Bomber Jacket - $35: I’ve been keeping my eye out for more affordable bomber jacket styles. I’m not buying in that this is a long-term trend, but this is a great option if you don’t want to tread into the territory of the jacket listed in the A&F section.
  2. Quilted Jersey Shirt-Jacket - $36.99: The best way to describe this is a poor man’s Barbour jacket (The jackets with the cord material color, couple hundred years old, pricey). This jacket has fewer pockets but essentially does the same. Perfect for those awkward weather days when you can’t tell if it’ll stay cold or get warm.
  3. Slim-Fit Double-Weave Shirt - $36.99: A great casual shirt for the price. I’d stick to wearing this on casual Fridays at the office, but the light denim material with the dark buttons looks great.
  4. Sueded Court Sneakers - $29.99: Yes, I was as shocked as you when I saw these. Old Navy completely mimicked the exact style of the Nike kill shot court sneakers. It’s only missing the signature stitched Nike swoosh. Still a big fan of these. Their shoes hold up surprisingly well. For the price, it’s seemingly a steal.
  5. Reversible Flannel Scarf - $7.97: Most guys don’t wear scarfs, but they’re severely underrated. I find myself wearing a light jacket with a scarf and being just as warm as if I’m wearing my heaviest jacket. Plus, with that price. Come on, it’s a no-brainer.
  6. Roll-Cuff Beanie - $14.99: I’ve seen a lot of guys switch to the slim ear muffs that go behind the head. That way they don’t mess up their hair. If you don’t mind messing up your do before heading anywhere than I’d go with the low-profile roll-cuff beanie. Stay away from the slouchy snowboarding beanie. Unless of course, you’re actually hitting the slopes soon.
  7. Heathered-Canvas Backpack - $36.00: Simple, sophisticated and practical. No frills to this backpack. Perfect for an extra carry on when traveling, or an everyday bag. You won’t be able to find a quality backpack for anything less than this.

H&M

They’re known for their fast-fashion. Bringing in new styles at an exhausting rate. What many people seem to forget is they have an awful lot of wardrobe basics for really good prices.

  1. Biker Jacket - $69.99: Okay, I have a selfish goal to one day get a badass biker jacket. Until I’m fine with spending way too much money on it, this will do. It probably won’t last longer than a year. But hey, you’ll look pretty great without dropping a fortune.
  2. Hooded Jacket - $14.99: Everyone needs a go-to sweatshirt. Simple design with no logo and a decent fit. What else do you need?
  3. Jogger Sweatpants - $24.99: Be careful with these. Definitely, try them on in-stores. Sometimes they’re a little too baggy around the calf for my liking. One of the downsides to their clothes being so cheap.
  4. Fine-knit Cotton Sweater - $17.99: Wear it on Sunday when you’re vegging out on the couch or over a button down when heading to work. A pretty versatile piece if you ask me. I’d suggest air drying or drying on a very low temperature. Too much heat will have this falling apart in no time.
  5. Chelsea-style Boots - $59.99: I’ve recommended these before, and I’m still sticking by them. I’ve had mine for about 5 months now and they’re still holding up. They’re suede so make sure to spray them down with some water repellent before sloshing through the city.

Quick Tip: I’d go up one size with anything, except shoes, from H&M.

Like a kid in AV club asking a cheerleader to prom, I’m asking you to give this a chance. At the minimum to save some money. Many will scoff and call me crazy, but I’m telling you that these are great options to find quality clothes for a decent price.

I’ve done the searching for you, but I’m sure if you dug around you’d find something as well.

The Treat Yo Self series will be returning in March with some more uncommon New Years Resolutions…

--

--

Ethan Thomas
No Jacket Required

Young professional. Optimistic writer. Amateur style whiz.