Hello World!

Phil Robinson
No Man’s Sk(ui)
Published in
1 min readAug 21, 2019

I’m an award-winning UX designer with 15 years experience spanning agencies, studios, startups, and internal design teams. I have worked for some of the world’s largest brands including Nike, Tiffany, McDonalds, L’Oreal, Goldman Sachs, and Jet/Walmart. I own two patents. I currently manage a team of designers for Northwestern Mutual. Here’s my linkedin

I’ve been building my own computers for 30 years, grew up rewriting autoexec.bat to get config.sys and emm386.exe to give me ALL THE MEMORY. I’m currently rocking a 34 inch Alienware ultrawide and a 2080ti, which is pure gaming heaven. My all time favs are System Shock 2, X-Com (any and all), Just Cause 3, Total War (Warhammer flavor), and Ex Machnina. Oh, and of course: No Mans Sky.

No Mans Sky is unmatched in the mood and experience it creates. There is no other game that inspires quite the same sense of awe and wonder. Steam tells me I have well over 100 hours logged at this point. I love it.

But… I struggle with the interface. Building bases, having conversations, managing inventory, traveling. Name a thing you want to do in the game and the UI gets in the way. I think about fixing it every-time I play.

So I decided to start this publication. I’m hoping to detail how a UX designer would approach these problems. It’ll help me feel better about playing the game and hopefully will help those aspiring to be better interface designers.

--

--

Phil Robinson
No Man’s Sk(ui)

Award-winning UX designer with 15 years experience. Worked with/for: Nike, Tiffany, McDonalds, L’Oreal , Goldman, Jet/Walmart. UX Director @Northwestern Mutual