Is Facebook Trying Too Hard?

Paige Brophy
No Paige Number
Published in
2 min readFeb 16, 2016

--

Just last week I expressed that Facebook was not dying, and that was a phrase that needed to be reconsidered. I still stand by that wholeheartedly, but I am starting to think Facebook might be getting a little nervous…

Yesterday during the Grammys I did my usual every 20 minute check of my news feed, and there was an envelope at the top of my feed that said “And the Grammy goes to..” I thought “huh, interesting that Facebook would do that,” and it was almost a shock that it was there.

On Valentines day the top of my news feed showcased a card that said “Happy Valentines Day.” This to me was normal, but almost an overload after an entire week of Facebook giving me a memory at the top of my news feed. A memory of what I posed years ago used to pop up maybe once a week, but lately it has been an every day occurrence. I thought that was what the Timehop app was for?

None of this is bad, but it just feels forced. It feels like Facebook is trying to engage too hard that part of me wants to pull away. I could be wrong, because today I woke up with no memory, no card, or no personalized thing at the top of my news feed, it was just my news feed, and it was refreshing. So maybe my algorithm was just out of wack, and things will proceed as normal.

--

--

Paige Brophy
No Paige Number

Writing is the simplest thing that can change the world. A marathoner, writer, and passionate person who believes writing and inspiring social change through it