Now That We Have Had Some Time to React….

Paige Brophy
No Paige Number
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2016

When the Facebook react buttons first came out, I personally really did not know how to react. I heard that Facebook was unveiling a dislike button, but then it seemed like Facebook gave us every option but a dislike button.

I can now love something, think it’ s hilarious, a wow factor, or even farther than dislike, is angry. It’s almost as if I don’t even have to comment on something to now tell people how I feel, which is maybe the point. Facebook is making communication all the more easier, but the longer it’s been around, the longer I feel that the connection is gone. Yes, I have more options, but I just feel like there isn’t even a point to interact anymore, because I don’t know how to.

When I used to love something that was on my newsfeed, I would make a solid effort to not only like it, but also comment on it. Now, I feel like I could just hit the love button, as a wide majority of my Facebook friends have adopted, and done on my status updates, but it really just does not feel the same to me. I have lost the personal connection with Facebook, because they are trying too hard. If I love something, I would have expressed it. I don’t need a button for it.

I know it is just social media, and I guess you can’t really feel a sense of personal connection at all on it… but I honestly used to with Facebook. I don’t know what it was about it, but it was the simplicity that let me control how I wanted to communicate. With 7 new buttons, the simplicity is lost, and somehow I feel like my personal communication is too.

This is just my opinion though. I value the personal connection that our parents described they had when they were our age, and it keeps getting farther and farther away from my grasp.

--

--

Paige Brophy
No Paige Number

Writing is the simplest thing that can change the world. A marathoner, writer, and passionate person who believes writing and inspiring social change through it