Don’t Change The Subject When Someone Talks To You About Their Mental Health.

You may make them feel bad about talking about it.

Carol Townend
No Shame
Published in
4 min readFeb 21, 2024

--

Photo by Marcel Strauß on Unsplash

People with mental health problems may feel ashamed about opening up, and they may find it challenging to do so.

I have dealt with past mental health problems, and I still deal with PTSD regularly.

I find it difficult to talk about my symptoms without feeling embarrassed, guilty for having the problem, and ashamed at times. It can leave me unable to open up and talk about it when the person I am talking to acts uninterested or tries to change the subject while I am talking.

There will be some situations when the person may become a little stressed by talking about their mental health and when talking about what happened to them.

  • Don’t try to change the subject and act uninterested. Ask them if they would like to take a break.
  • Offer them a drink or food and ask if they want to talk later.
  • Don’t push the subject of talking, but allow them to tell you as much as they feel comfortable doing so.

--

--

Carol Townend
No Shame

You can visit my Amazon page here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carol-Ann-Townend/e/B09GFV6C1C/ I have a big love for reading and writing poetry and fiction.