How I Started in the Music Industry with ZERO Experience

Aleksey (Aleks) Weyman
No Wey Home
Published in
6 min readOct 2, 2023

--

Originally published at noweyhome.com by Aleksey Weyman

I have spent more than a decade in the music industry, and when I tell people, followed by the comment that I left my corporate job just a few years ago, they are often perplexed. The short answer is yes, I was juggling two careers over the past decade. Truthfully, that’s how I was able to get to where I am today with my freelance work, allowing me to quit my day job and work for myself full-time.

But, of course, there’s a long backstory to how and why I got started in this industry. It all goes back to my first few days as a young adult living in the Seattle area. I was in my junior year of college at the University of Washington, pursuing a degree in technology management. This was around the same time when I got my first job at Apple, working at the genius bar and what they called back then the red zone. I’ve always been a big fan of electronic dance music, and prior to my university years, I was a DJ at local parties in high school and in the fraternity I was in. I feel like that background really paved the way for my interest in live event work. As soon as I turned 21 in the Seattle area, I was invited to go to several nightclubs with some friends.

Enter the Nightlife Industry

--

--

Aleksey (Aleks) Weyman
No Wey Home

Chief yearner 🙇🏼 Writer and explorer of many topics including tech, lifestyle, self improvement and more.