Battle with Academia

Shaston NoahGuy McNaspy
NoahGuy
Published in
2 min readApr 10, 2018
Photo by Stijn Swinnen on Unsplash

Society teaches us that a degree from a university is required to be successful.

I have always struggled with this.

I am a kinesthetic learner and Entrepreneur at heart, Academia wasn’t built for my kind.

Something about regurgitating knowledge does not appeal to me.

I need hands on, interactive learning.

So here I am a 26 year old, Army vet, working full time with a wife and daughter. I have my Associates degree in business from San Jacinto College.

I honorable discharged from Active Duty in November of 2013. After avoiding college as much as possible, God made it clear that is where I needed to be.

While I do not like Academia, I do like the structure that college provides.

Have you ever tried learning a new skill on your own through YouTube or another online course?

It is tough. Especially if you have a lot of squirrel moments.

So here I am with half of my GI Bill left, and trying to get my foot into the IT industry.

In order to meet admission requirements at Western Governors University for their Software Development program, I need the CompTIA A+ Certification.

The material relates to my interactive learning style, but I do not have the luxury of the hands on training.

My plan is to push through so I can use the last of my 9/11 GI Bill.

Why let the benefit go to waste right?

Without the GI Bill, I would probably refuse to go to college.

Here’s my logic:

Why pay thousands or go into debt for information that the internet provides?

With some extra discipline, any skill can be learned on the internet, debt free.

Seek Peace. Digital Peace.

What do you think? Is college overrated in the digital age? Comment away!

--

--