Hope Shivers in the Wind

This is good news for people who want more than gingerbread-happiness.

Michael Murray
Nobody Left Out

--

When it comes to Christmas music, I’m an “all things in moderation” kind of guy. I don’t mind it, but a little goes a long way.

Last Saturday, my wife Diana and I were driving home from a date, and I turned on the radio. A Christmas song began playing, and I remembered this was one of those “Christmas 24/7” stations. I let out a groan. I’m not a fan of non-stop Christmas music, and especially not this year.

This year, I’m pretty okay if I don’t hear any Christmas songs. Before you call me a Scrooge, it’s not that I’m against Christmas. It’s just that the gingerbread-happiness of most Christmas songs are unrealistic. It can all seem trite when the world is in crisis-mode.

I flipped over to another station only to be greeted by… Another Christmas song! It was Carrie Underwood’s version of “Do You Hear What I Hear?” This time, I sat back and gave into it. And as I let the words wash over me, a tear came to my eye. (It’s a good thing I wasn’t the one driving!)

Said the little lamb to the shepherd boy
Do you hear what I hear?
Ringing through the sky shepherd boy
Do you hear what I hear?
A song, a song
High above the trees
With a voice as big as the sea

--

--

Michael Murray
Nobody Left Out

Just a broken, messy guy trying to follow Jesus one shaky step at a time. Get my free 5-day devotional here ➜ https://www.subscribepage.com/nobodyleftoutmedium.